I’m not one of these runners who wakes up bright and bubbly (Derek can certainly attest to this) and ready for a run.  Maybe by 10 a.m. I am open to the idea of running that day.

At 2:15 p.m. today I couldn’t be more eager to run.  Why, you ask?  Because my watch arrived!!!

I unpacked it as soon as it was delivered, and then promptly set it aside until my coffee break at 3:00 p.m. like a good girl.  I spent my coffee break setting it up and looking through the quick start manual.  After work, I got the heart rate monitor working and checked out the Garmin Connect website.  The Garmin Connect website is a place where you can sync up all your watch data wirelessly straight from the watch to your computer. 

As I had read in another review, the buttons are tricky to push, but you don’t really need to push any buttons during your run except for marking laps/splits.

There are lots of little areas within the watch, like setting up intervals for yourself (so I don’t have to remember when my next rest period is) and alerts to let you know if you have reached your target heart rate or pace.  Luckily, besides the 48-page manual, there are training videos on the Garmin website.  Garmin really has thought of everything!

Today’s Run: 6 Kilometer Long Slow Run

My target pace was 10:44 mins/mile, which worked out to a 5.6 mph on the treadmill, which is a speed I had already been using for all my runs before.  I hadn’t checked before, but my target heart rate was supposed to be 70% of my maximum heart rate.  This is apparently 132 bpm for me. 

So how did it go? Great!  I put on my heart rate monitor and off I went.  I immensely enjoyed running with my new watch, and I just can’t wait until I get the foot pod so it will track more data for me.  I had it scrolling between three different pages. 

  1. Interval info (how much time left, which interval I was on).
  2. Pace, heart rate and heart rate zone (i.e. 113-132 bpm is Zone 2).  As mentioned, without the foot pod, I had no distance or pace info. 
  3. A clock (current time of day), distance and speed (mph). 

 The watch can accommodate another four pages of stats during the run and there is a setting to indicate how fast to scroll through the pages, or to not scroll at all (manual scrolling).  I have a feeling I will be playing around with these pages to find exactly the right layout.

I wirelessly transferred my data from my watch to the handy-dandy ANT+ connector (basically a USB key) and here’s what I got (click on the image for a larger view):

Turns out, my heart rate was higher than it should have been.  As I said, I didn’t check in advance that it only should have been 70%, but I felt fine during the run.  At no point did I feel like stopping (and I always feel like stopping!)

The other problem is that I included my warm-up in my total distance.  Bad idea!  Now it looked like I was slower than I really was… 5 minutes slower, actually.

Overall it was a great run!

