I downloaded some new running tunes last night.  I’ve never been huge into pop music.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy it, but I would never pay money for an album after I hit 14.   I went to www.rockmyrun.com and checked out some of the mixes and downloaded some of the music I thought I’d like.  I went for LMFAO, Katy Perry, Ke$ha and Black Eyed Peas to supplement my running mix.  My running mix had consisted of Amy Winehouse, Mumford & Sons, Rihanna, Coldplay, Foster the People, Bad Religion, Nirvana, Massive Attack, Tool, System of a Down, Adele, Lily Allen, Lady Gaga.  Yes, I have eclectic tastes.

I started my Long Steady Distance (or LSD to make it sound pleasurable) run today with full intentions of being a good girl, keeping my heart rate nice and low, and running at the bottom of the suggested pace.  That meant I had to run at 5.1 mph.  Geez, I could have probably walked at that pace!!! I bumped it up a bit which was a bit more comfortable.  Then at about 41 minutes in, after two episodes of Coronation Street, I started listening to music instead of watching 5-10 minutes of Coronation Street.  Bad idea!!!  My nice pace (and heart rate) went to hell as I was having way too much fun with my new music.  The fact that I was having fun and not keeling over made me take my high heart rate in stride.  Check it out by clicking on the thumbnail below:

 

 I did a bit of research this morning on high heart rates during exercise.  There was an “Ask Alice” column on this (published by Columbia Health): http://goaskalice.columbia.edu/exercising-beyond-my-maximum-heart-rate-safe  and it seems to be a very common problem.  Her last words of wisdom on the subject really sat well with me:

The moral of the story here is that we all don’t fit into a neat package (or equation, as the case may be). We are all unique and different individuals.

“Alice” was referring to the Maximum Heart Rate = 220-Age equation.  She suggested using the recovery rate instead.  Checking out my chart, mine would fall around 18 bpm when going from running to walking.  According to Alice, about 20 is average for a healthy person.  Many articles I read basically just said go with what feels good.  I don’t regret purchasing my heart rate monitor, however.  The information and statistics it provides is still very interesting.

I have a day off tomorrow, but I really need to get back into the weight training routines and definitely some ab-work if I am to get into a bikini in 33 days!

