So apparently I made a mistake calculating my target heart rate.  This is a good thing because the new calculation makes my heart rate look better than it was.  The calculation for women is 226-age is the maximum.

More exciting news: my Garmin Foot Pod arrived!  Hooray!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found it extremely accurate, without even needing to calibrate it first.  It was simple to connect to my watch.  I’ve adjusted my watch to display current pace, heart rate and average pace on the main screen.  I turned the auto-scroll off, so I would have to switch pages manually.  I found I spent most of the time on that main page, then switching to my interval info (i.e. how much time before I got to stop).  Yes, “got to stop.”   I guess I was bound to have a  bad day running eventually.

Week 2 – Day 2

It was supposed to be a 6 km steady run (10:44 minutes per mile pace).  I felt terrible, I felt like I hadn’t run in weeks!  Right off the bat, I felt like my legs were pillars of concrete and my heart rate soared immediately to 85% of my maximum.  I had something important to get to at 6:30 p.m., so I had to leave before finishing.  I probably wouldn’t have been able to finish, even if I had the time.  In the end I only got to 4 km. Boo 😦

I appreciated the new data offered up on Garmin Connect as a result of using the foot pod.  It showed me something I could be happy about: my pace and stride rate/cadence stayed relatively even.  The thing I read about cadence monitoring on foot pods is that it only measures the cadence of one foot.  This made me feel better once I read that cadence should be around the 180 mark, considering my one-footed cadence was 78 (steps per minute).

Week 2 – Day 3

Hill training day!  5 hills of about 1/4 mile, 6-8% incline, run at 9:40 minutes/mile. I did this run last week and had no problem and even enjoyed it (4 hills last week).  This time, I was using a treadmill at the gym (vs. home) and found it much harder.  The 6% incline seemed higher.  I actually had convinced myself that it was supposed to be 4% and ended up running the 4 last hills at 4%.  I’m kind of hoping my treadmill at home is the “right”one. 

I didn’t enjoy the treadmill at the gym at all… I actually prefer my home treadmill and not just because I had an easier time.  First, my treadmill at home has easy to adjust settings.  If you want to go 6 mph, then you hit the “6”.  On the treadmill at the gym, you have to arrow up/down till you get to your desired speed.  Same with the incline.  The other thing is that the gym treadmill touts this iPod integration.  Just plug your iPod/phone into the treadmill, plug your earphones in the treadmill and you control your music using the settings on the ‘mill.  This would be great, except mine kept disconnecting. So annoying!  Eventually I just unplugged and listened to the music on my phone the “regular” way.

Speaking of music, I started out with my usual gym mix, but due to high heart rate, I decided to switch it up and listen to some Tchaikovsky.  I thought some classical music might help.  I felt it helped during my recovery periods, but looking at the charts, it’s hard to tell if it really helped at all.  I will try again tomorrow for my steady run.  Click on the thumbnail to see how I did:

