English: A pizza from the oven. Français : Une...
Image via Wikipedia

I misheard the LMFAO lyrics in their song “hotdog” as “training for a hotdog”.  Too funny… I felt it rung true for me, anyway!  I am not in any way, shape or form, one of those people who can eat whatever they want.  I love food and I really do need to work hard to eat what I want.  That being said, I’ve found that the fitter I get, the less inclined I am to eat “bad” food.  I still love fries, burgers, anything smothered in cheese… but I’m not addicted to it like I used to be. 

Last night, even, I was looking for an evening snack.  We had tortilla chips and queso cheese, which I would normally grab right away, but instead… I grabbed a peach!!!  Ok, I’m getting hungry now.

I missed my run yesterday.  We got home at around 6pm  and weren’t finished dinner until 7.  That meant it would be 8 before I could run.  I decided to give it a pass.  I don’t plan to make a habit of this, I promise!

Today, I had a 10km Long Slow Distance run.  It was the farthest I’ve ever managed to run! Before today, the farthest I had gone was 6km.  I found myself rarely checking my watch to see how long I had left in my interval before I could rest.  On two instances, I heard my watch beeping away to advise me to get ready for my rest interval.  I was quite surprised because I wasn’t really ready to stop.  I started to get bored around the 7km mark. Then around 8km I got into it again, quite excited that I was nearly done.  Around the 9km mark, I sped up and got an awesomely supportive text from Derek telling me I looked great and to keep it up.  That just added to my emotion when I finally finished.

My heart rate was higher than intended, but overall I felt really good anyway.

My new favourite running song is Lonely Boy by the Black Keys… it has a great beat for keeping a very comfortable cadence.

 

I managed to finsh my 10k in 1 hour and 14 minutes.  Slow, yes, but I suppose that is the intent of the Long Slow Distance.  It can only get better from here!

