I didn’t have the best training week.

To start, Tuesday at lunchtime, I found out I was “the successful candidate” in a job application. Yippee! So, instead of training, my husband and I went to celebrate with a couple pints of beer and some nachos at Original Joe’s.

Wednesday, I did my hill training at 5:30 a.m., which went extremely well. I was not very excited to be up that early in the morning, but I was feeling fantastic when it was done. See my results here: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/161689752

Thursday, I had to deal with some fallout from my resignation. By day’s end, I was drained and not motivated to run. So, I will admit it… we ended up at McDonald’s instead of training. Totally worth it. Even if it meant I had completely blown my week of training

Friday, I realized that my week had been shot. I was going to have to re-do this week’s training. The last few weeks had been close to the same each week, but next week is a bump-up. I knew I wouldn’t be able to hack it after missing 2/5 days this week. My husband and I had a great celebratory dinner at The Keg in any case.

Saturday, I had a rough 6 km steady run at the indoor track at the Grande Prairie Multiplex (or EastLink Centre, as it’s called now). I had a hard time keeping pace and found myself constantly needing to stop. Check it out here: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/161689755. This bad run really firmed up my decision to re-start this week’s training. When we got home, we completely re-arranged and cleaned out our basement in order to sort out my new home office.

Sunday (today), I decided to do my 10km Long Slow Distance (LSD) at home, rather than on the indoor track. I could watch Coronation Street to ease the boredom. I had read online and been advised by a coworker to try easing the boredom by doing half on the track and half on the treadmill. I may just do that next time. My next Long Slow Distance is 13 km. Yikes! I’m guessing the routine bumps up those LSD’s so that the 10km at race time seems like a breeze. Anyway, here are my stats: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/161689761. I was especially pooped after today’s run, but it didn’t stop me from completing re-organizing Owen’s room to make it a better space for his learning by removing distractions, etc. I can’t wait to show it all to him tomorrow when he’s home from his dad’s.

;

