I’ve been slumping a bit in running lately, no more than 15k a week. Last night, I told myself that I would run the next day and I would do 8k, no matter how slow I had to go. Before going to sleep, I told my husband I was going to try and run in the morning (and quickly changed that to that I was going to run in the morning).

Morning came around and I wished I hadn’t said anything about running, but having told Derek that I would run, I made myself get up.

A had a bowl of Cheerios and two glasses of water before hitting the treadmill. I started out nicely, but I paused around 4k to switch my fan on. I felt a little lightheaded and I figured I was dehydrated. I decided to add some Gatorade to my water and chugged about 4 ounces. I don’t know if it was a placebo effect, but once I got to 5k, I was feeling pretty good and decided to carry on to 6k. The next thing I knew, I was at 7k, so I decided to keep on chugging! I finished feeling awesome, especially that I did the entire distance I planned.

Despite feeling great, I do have some nagging soreness in my hips (anterior/front). It’s not necessarily pain, just a stretching feeling during my run at times and just sore afterwards. It’s not something I’ve felt before. It could even be unrelated to running, considering I haven’t really been running anyway! I sit cross-legged at my desk a lot (think little kid crossed legs, not the other kind!). I will check into some strength exercises and stretches. If anyone has any advice, please let me know!

