Since my blog is no longer just for 10k training, I’ve renamed it!  I am strongly considering entering a half-marathon in August, so that will  intertwine with my 10k training a bit.

Anyway, it has been a while since my last post.  I have thought of loads of things to  blog about, just haven’t gotten to it.

Winter Running

As most of my readers will know, I live in Northern Alberta.  We have winter about 5-6 months of the year, and despite this, many people do still run outdoors, with the help of layering and proper footwear.  I am not one of those people.  I envy those who run outdoors in the winter, they have this “hardcore” appeal to me.  I do know plenty of hardcore and truly-committed runners who do not run outdoors in the winter, and I must think about them whenever I feel like I’m not a real runner for not wanting to run outdoors in the ice and snow.

Last week, I knew I was going to be in a small town with no gym in my hotel for 6 days.  I thought this would be a good chance to make myself run outdoors.  I made a pit-stop at the largest mall in North America, but all the stores that carry athletic apparel were now into spring-wear.  It was not meant to be!

Instead, I opened up my February edition of Runners World and did the strength exercises in there.  I really enjoyed them and found myself pretty sore, even by just using my own body weight for the exercises (rather than having access to free weights).

Running Club

I’m feeling pretty honoured to have been asked to help out my local running club with their website and online registrations.  Check out the site! www.gprunwalk.com.

