I haven’t used this blog in a long long time, and I’m reactivating it to journal my laser eye surgery experience.

I’ve been wearing glasses and contact lenses for almost 30 years now.  The prescription in my contact lenses are -5.25 diopters, which is pretty bad.  I’m closer to being legally blind than I am to having 20/20 vision.

Ever since I started wearing contacts, which was maybe when I was 14, I have been wearing them full-time.  I loved them.  I have nothing against contact lenses, but it still doesn’t beat the freedom of having perfect vision. There were no spontaneous sleepovers with friends in school because I didn’t carry my contact solution and case with me at all times. Then fast forward to my late twenties when my son was born, I could hardly see a thing when he woke up in the middle of the night or had nightmares in his toddler years. Yes, there was always glasses for those times, but I didn’t really keep good tabs on them because I never wore them. Now we’re in the time of my life where I can’t sleep and I’m scrambling around trying to find my glasses in the middle of the night trying not to wake up my husband.  It’s just a pain in the butt.

The decision to get laser eye surgery finally came.  It’s something I’ve always wanted, but never had the money for it, or even if we did have the money for it, it seemed like a lot of money to spend on myself. My amazing husband was the one to finally suggest to me to get a consultation. After the consultation, I told him how much it was, and he didn’t bat an eye.

As soon as I scheduled my consultation, I started absorbing all the blogs I could possibly get my hands on, which is why I decided to share my experience as well.

 

